Packages from San Francisco

18.03.2021 von Matthias Münch in Science
Computer scientists at universities in Central Germany are downloading a copy of the World Wide Web from the Internet Archive - the world’s largest public library of historical websites. It is expected to open up new areas of research in the field of computer science as well as in the social sciences and the humanities.
PhS student Maik Fröbe in IT Service Center
PhS student Maik Fröbe in IT Service Center (Foto: Michael Deutsch)

When Maik Fröbe orders a package from California, he isn’t awaiting the delivery of a smartphone, laptop or tablet. Nor is he expecting a Shiraz or Zinfandel. No, for the computer scientist is not about devices or delicacies, it’s about data. The most recent delivery from San Francisco contained 300 terabytes and transfer time took over a month despite a download rate of up to one gigabit per second. “That’s as fast as it gets,” he says, adding, “we don’t want to overload the lines.”   

Fröbe is a research assistant at the Institute of Computer Science at MLU and is involved in the “Immersive Web Observatory” (IWO). His boss, Professor Matthias Hagen from the research group “Big Data Analytics”, initiated this innovative project four years ago together with Professor Martin Potthast from the University of Leipzig and Professors Benno Stein and Bernd Fröhlich from the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. The IWO is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

Knowledge repository with access barriers

Matthias Hagen has been a Professor of „Big Data Analytics“ since 2018
Matthias Hagen has been a Professor of „Big Data Analytics“ since 2018 (Foto: Maike Glöckner)

“The Web is the largest repository of data and information there is,” says Matthias Hagen. “This makes it interesting not only for private and commercial use, but also for research.” Many areas of computer science deal with algorithms for storing and retrieving data - for example, to investigate how knowledge management can be linked with artificial intelligence. The Web is also invaluable for the digital humanities, a rapidly growing field of the humanities and social sciences. As an independent medium, it provides a snapshot of a section of society, showing how we communicate with each other, which topics determine our discourse, and which stakeholders get to have their say.

When conducting such analyses, however, researchers in the fields of computer science, sociology or history encounter two fundamental hurdles: First, the structure of the Web is very heterogeneous; it cannot be combed through like a single dataset - even using the best search engines. And secondly, research also requires historical data that maps the development of the Web itself. This, however, is particularly difficult because an average webpage is estimated to be online for 60 to 90 days at most before it is updated or even deleted. According to Hagen, “If you don’t work in the development department of Google or another internet corporation, and don’t have a ready-to-use copy of the Web at your fingertips, you have little chance of gaining access to this historical data.”

Transferring eight quadrillion bytes

But computer scientists have found a way to get around this hurdle by tapping into a source of inestimable value: the web archive of the Internet Archive. In 1996, two years before Google was founded, the American computer scientist Brewster Kahle began regularly archiving all the content available on the Web. Prominent websites such as news sites, which are constantly changing and accessed by millions of people, are copied several times a day; less important websites are copied less often. The library is stored on 20,000 hard drives in four data centres in San Francisco and now contains around 500 billion websites as well as more than 29 million books and texts, almost seven million videos and films, 14 million audio files, and almost four million image files.

The research group is now bringing a representative cross-section of the web archive to Germany. Eight petabytes, or eight quadrillion bytes, will be transferred from the data centres in California to IWO’s 78 servers at the Bauhaus-Universität. “We started downloading in 2019 and downloaded one petabyte by the end of January 2021,” says Maik Fröbe. The data is not being transferred continuously; when requested, the staff at the Internet Archive assemble single data packets which are then retrieved from Germany. The transfer is expected to take until the end of 2022. By then the servers in Weimar will contain as many as twelve petabytes of data because data is retained several times to prevent possible data loss. To illustrate: 12,000 standard PCs with one-terabyte hard drive each would be needed to store this amount of data.

Indexing and analysing big data in Halle

When the transatlantic data transfer is complete, the work of Halle’s computer scientists will be far from over: “The copy of the Web is initially nothing more than an unstructured collection of information,” says Matthias Hagen. “We will need to employ effective analytical tools to unlock the content.” An indexing cluster is to be created at MLU, a keyword system that enables structured searches prompted by scientific questions. With the help of big data analysis, it will be possible to look for search patterns in large amounts of data from different sources - for example, to find text, audio or image files on specific events or by particular authors.

The digital humanities will particularly benefit from the work of the computer scientists from Central Germany. The research questions are as diverse as society itself: Who publishes on the Web? Has the culture of discourse changed? Can the Web serve as a source of data for historians? Can the monetary value of platforms like Wikipedia be measured? How has the self-portrayal of public institutions, companies and individuals developed on the Web? Matthias Hagen expects a high degree of involvement from the research community. “We provide the impetus, create access and ensure good searchability. However, representatives from the different professional communities know best which raw data is the most relevant. That is why we are explicitly calling upon anyone interested to enter into constructive dialogue with us.”

Professor Matthias Hagen
Institut of Computer Science
Telephone: +49 345 55-24708
Mail: matthias.hagen@informatik.uni-halle.de

Categories

Science

Tags

Write a comment

Unsere Datenschutzerklärung finden Sie hier.

Pakete aus San Francisco

18.03.2021 von Matthias Münch in Wissenschaft
Informatiker mitteldeutscher Hochschulen laden eine Kopie des World Wide Web herunter - aus der weltweit größten öffentlichen Bibliothek historischer Webseiten, dem Internet Archive. Neben der Informatik selbst sollen damit insbesondere die Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften neue Forschungsgebiete erschließen können.
Doktorand Maik Fröbe im IT-Servicezentrum
Doktorand Maik Fröbe im IT-Servicezentrum (Foto: Michael Deutsch)

Wenn Maik Fröbe ein Paket in Kalifornien bestellt, dann erwartet er kein Smartphone, Laptop oder Tablet. Auch keinen Shiraz oder Zinfandel. Nein, dem Informatiker geht es nicht um Geräte und Genüsse, sondern um Daten. 300 Terabyte umfasste die jüngste Lieferung aus San Francisco, über einen Monat dauerte die Übertragung, trotz einer Downloadrate von bis zu einem Gigabit pro Sekunde. „Mehr geht nicht“, sagt er, „wir wollen ja die Leitungen nicht überlasten.“ 

Fröbe ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Informatik der MLU und beteiligt am „Immersive Web Observatory“ (IWO). Sein Chef, Prof. Dr. Matthias Hagen von der Arbeitsgruppe Big Data Analytics, hat dieses innovative Projekt vor vier Jahren gemeinsam mit Prof. Dr. Martin Potthast von der Universität Leipzig sowie Prof. Dr. Benno Stein und Prof. Dr. Bernd Fröhlich von der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar initiiert. Gefördert wird das IWO vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung.

Wissensspeicher mit Zugangsbarrieren

Matthias Hagen ist seit 2018 Professor für „Big Data Analytics“ in Halle.
Matthias Hagen ist seit 2018 Professor für „Big Data Analytics“ in Halle. (Foto: Maike Glöckner)

„Das Web ist der größte Daten- und Informationsspeicher überhaupt“, sagt Matthias Hagen. „Das macht es nicht nur für die private und kommerzielle Nutzung, sondern auch für die Forschung interessant.“ Viele Bereiche der Informatik etwa befassen sich mit Algorithmen zur Speicherung und Abfrage von Daten – beispielsweise um zu untersuchen, wie man Wissensmanagement mit Künstlicher Intelligenz verknüpfen kann. Auch für die Digital Humanities, ein schnell wachsendes Feld der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften, ist das Web von unschätzbarem Wert: Als eigenständiges Medium liefert es ein Abbild eines Teils der Gesellschaft, es zeigt, wie wir miteinander kommunizieren, welche Themen den Diskurs bestimmen und welche Akteure zu Wort kommen.

Bei solchen Analysen stoßen Forschende der Informatik, Soziologie oder Geschichte jedoch auf zwei grundlegende Hürden: Erstens ist die Struktur des Webs sehr heterogen – selbst mit den besten Suchmaschinen lässt es sich nicht wie ein einzelner Datensatz durchforsten. Und zweitens benötigt die Forschung auch historische Daten, die die Entwicklung des Webs selbst abbilden. Das jedoch ist besonders schwierig, weil Webseiten Schätzungen zufolge im Durchschnitt höchstens 60 bis 90 Tage online sind, bevor sie aktualisiert oder gar gelöscht werden. Hagen: „Wer nicht in den Entwicklungsabteilungen von Google oder anderen Internetkonzernen arbeitet und über eine gebrauchsfertige Kopie des Webs verfügt, hat kaum eine Chance, gerade an diese historischen Daten zu gelangen.“

Transfer von acht Billiarden Bytes

Doch es gibt eine Möglichkeit, diese Barriere zu überwinden. Dafür zapfen die Informatiker eine Quelle von unschätzbarem Wert an: das Web-Archiv des Internet Archive. 1996, zwei Jahre vor der Gründung von Google, begann der amerikanische Informatiker Brewster Kahle, sämtliche im Web zugänglichen Inhalte regelmäßig zu archivieren. Prominente Angebote wie Nachrichtenseiten, die sich permanent ändern und auf die Millionen Menschen zugreifen, werden mehrmals täglich kopiert, weniger bedeutende Seiten entsprechend seltener. Die Bibliothek wird in vier Rechenzentren in San Francisco auf 20.000 Festplatten gespeichert und umfasst inzwischen rund 500 Milliarden Webseiten – außerdem über 29 Millionen Bücher und Texte, fast sieben Millionen Videos und Filme, 14 Millionen Audio- und fast vier Millionen Bilddateien.

Einen repräsentativen Querschnitt des Web-Archivs holt die Forschergruppe nun nach Deutschland. Acht Petabyte, das sind acht Billiarden Bytes, sollen von den kalifornischen Rechenzentren auf die 78 Server des IWO an der Bauhaus-Universität transferiert werden. „2019 haben wir mit dem Download begonnen und bis Ende Januar 2021 ein Petabyte heruntergeladen“, sagt Maik Fröbe. Die Übertragung erfolgt nicht kontinuierlich – auf Anforderung stellen die Mitarbeiter des Internet Archives einzelne Datenpakete zusammen, die dann von Deutschland aus abgerufen werden. Ende 2022 soll der Transfer abgeschlossen sein. Dann werden auf den Weimarer Servern sogar zwölf Petabyte liegen, weil manche Daten aus Sicherheitsgründen redundant vorgehalten werden. Zur Veranschaulichung: 12.000 handelsübliche PCs mit Ein-Terabyte-Festplatten wären nötig, um diese Datenmenge speichern zu können.

Indexierung und Big-Data-Analyse in Halle

Wenn der transatlantische Datentransfer abgeschlossen ist, ist die Arbeit der halleschen Informatiker längst nicht beendet, im Gegenteil: „Die Kopie des Webs ist zunächst nicht mehr als eine unstrukturierte Sammlung von Informationen“, sagt Matthias Hagen. „Wir werden effektive Analysewerkzeuge einsetzen, um die Inhalte zu erschließen.“ An der MLU soll ein Indexierungscluster entstehen, eine Verschlagwortung, die eine strukturierte, von wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen geleitete Suche ermöglicht. Mithilfe der Big-Data-Analyse wird es möglich sein, große Datenmengen aus unterschiedlichen Quellen nach Suchmustern zu durchforsten – etwa um Texte, Audio- oder Bilddateien zu bestimmten Ereignissen oder von bestimmten Autoren zu finden.

Vor allem die Digital Humanities werden von der Arbeit der mitteldeutschen Informatiker profitieren. Die Forschungsfragen sind so vielfältig wie die Gesellschaft selbst: Wer schreibt im Web? Hat sich die Diskussionskultur verändert? Kann das Web als Datenquelle für Historiker dienen? Ist der monetäre Wert von Plattformen wie Wikipedia messbar? Wie hat sich die Selbstdarstellung von öffentlichen Institutionen, Firmen und Individuen im Web entwickelt? Matthias Hagen erwartet eine starke Beteiligung der Forschungsgemeinde: „Wir geben den Impuls, schaffen den Zugang und sorgen für eine gute Durchsuchbarkeit. Welche Rohdaten jedoch relevant sind, das wissen die Vertreter der jeweiligen Fach-Communities am besten. Deshalb rufen wir alle Interessierten explizit dazu auf, mit uns in einen konstruktiven Austausch zu treten.“

Prof. Dr. Matthias Hagen
Institut für Informatik
Tel.: +49 345 55-24708
E-Mail: matthias.hagen@informatik.uni-halle.de

Kategorien

Wissenschaft

Schlagwörter

Informatik

Kommentar schreiben

Unsere Datenschutzerklärung finden Sie hier.